## Manteno CUSD #5 Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, March 3, 2009 Manteno High School Library

Call to Order The meeting was called to order by President Stauffenberg at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call The following members answered to roll call:

G. Dodge P. Mallaney S. Martin M. Nelson M. Stauffenberg – five (5)

Absent: G. Preston and J. Toepper – two (2).

Also present: Supt. Russert, R. Schnitzler, R. Fortin and D. Fortin – four (4).

Pledge of Allegiance President Stauffenberg led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Employment Moved by Nelson, seconded by Mallaney to hire Jennifer Weir as the

Transportation Coordinator effective 3/9/09 and to approve Marie Head as a substitute bus driver effective 3/4/09. Ayes: Nelson, Mallaney, Dodge, Martin, and

Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Executive Session

Moved by Dodge, seconded by Nelson to adjourn to executive session for the purpose of discussion of personnel, litigation and student disciplinary cases. Ayes: Dodge, Nelson, Mallaney, Martin and Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0).

Motion carried. Open session ended at 7:02 p.m.

Return to

Moved by Martin, seconded by Mallaney to return to open session at 8:18 p.m. Open Session Roll call: Martin, Mallaney, Dodge, Nelson and Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Expel Student "E"

Moved by Martin, seconded by Nelson to expel Student "E" for the remainder of the 2008-2009 school year and the first semester of next year. Ayes: Martin, Nelson, Dodge, Mallaney and Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Expel Student "F"

Moved by Nelson, seconded by Mallaney to expel Student "F" for the remainder of 2008-2009 school year and the first semester of next year. Ayes: Nelson, Mallaney, Dodge, Martin, and Stauffenberg – five (5).

Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Adjournment Moved by Nelson, seconded by Martin to adjourn the meeting. Voice

vote – all five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

The meeting ended at 8:19 p.m.

Mark Stauffenberg Patrick Mallaney, Board **Board President Board Secretary** MKS/PM/df